KNIGHTHOOD: Mario Vargas Llosa receives 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature


KNIGHTHOOD: Mario Vargas Llosa receives 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature
by Darius Kadivar

Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa, whose deeply political work vividly examines the perils of power and corruption in Latin America recieved the Nobel Prize from the hands of King Carl XVI Gustaf. Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize, an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace.

MorePhotos Here

Mario Vargas Llosa receives 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature from Swedish King Carl XVI Gustaf

at the Concert Hall in Stockholm:

Press Conference in NY a few months ago when Vargas Llosa learned about his award (AFP):

(NOTE: To Watch Video Click Here )

Announcing the award inStockholm, the Swedish Academy praised Mr. Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of the structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt and defeat.”

Mr. Vargas Llosa, 74, is oneof the most celebrated writers of the Spanish-speaking world, an anti-totalitarian intellectual whose work covers the range of human experience,whether it is ideology or eros. He is frequently mentioned with hiscontemporary Gabriel García Márquez, who won the literatureNobel in 1982, the last South American to do so. Mr. Vargas Llosa has writtenmore than 30 works of nonfiction, plays and novels, including “The Feast of theGoat” and “The War of the End of the World.”

Theprize is the first for a writer in the Spanish language in two decades, after

Octavio Paz of Mexico won in 1990. It renews attention on the Latin American

writers who gained renown in the 1960s, like Julio Cortázar of Argentina and

Carlos Fuentes of Mexico, who formed the region’s “boom generation.”

Recommended Readings:

Mario Vargas Llosa Wins Nobel Prize for Literature -

A Daughter Of Kermanshah Nobelized

by Darius KADIVAR

Related Blogs:

KNIGHTHOOD: Officer Takes Oath of Loyalty to Reza Shah and Country (1938)

KNIGHTHOOD: Shah Pins Medal on Young Boy (1973)

KNIGHTHOOD: Amin Maalouf bestowed with the 2010 "Prince of Asturias Award" for Literature

KNIGHTHOOD: Vatican Pardons Lennon's "Jesus" Remark ;0)

KNIGHTHOOD: Simon Veil Joins the "Green" Suited French "Immortals"

KNIGHTHOOD: Vanessa Redgrave Recieves Bafta Award From Prince William

KNIGHTHOOD: Re-Enactment of The Sassanian Cavalry (Short Film)

KNIGHTHOOD: Obama Honors Mel Brooks at Kennedy Center (X Mas 2009)

"GAY" KNIGHTS OF THE REPUBLIC:Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor Get French Honor ;0)

KNIGHTHOOD: Status Quo stars Rick Parfitt and Francis Rossi recieve OBE

KNIGHTHOOD: Serge Rezvani Decorated with French Legion of Honor

KNIGHTHOOD: Major 'Billy' the Qajar "Goat Mascott"

KNIGHTHOOD:Penguin receives Norwegian knighthood (2005)

KNIGHTHOOD: Tony Hancock seeks The Knight Hood (1960's)

KNIGHTHOOD: Arise Sir JJ ;0)

KNIGHTHOOD:Eastwood made French Legion of Honor Commander ;0)

KNIGHTHOOD: Arise Sir Dracula ! ;0)


more from Darius Kadivar
Darius Kadivar

Chinese author Mo Yan wins Nobel Prize for Literature

by Darius Kadivar on

Chinese author Mo Yan wins Nobel (bbc)



Chinese author Mo Yan is awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize for literature


Chinese author Mo Yan has been awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize for literature.

A prolific author, Mo has published dozens of short stories, with his first work published in 1981.

The Swedish Academy praised his work which "with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary".

The 57-year-old is the first Chinese resident to win the prize. Chinese-born Gao Xingjian was honoured in 2000, but is a French citizen.

Mo is the 109th recipient of the prestigious prize, won last year by Swedish poet Tomas Transtroemer.


Azarin Sadegh

He should be great...but

by Azarin Sadegh on

unfortunately, I haven't yet read anything from Vargas Liosa! But, considering the long list of his works, I'm sure he deserved the Nobel...:-))

Honestly now, I would like to see an Iranian woman like Shahrnush Parsipur or Simin Behbahani to win the prize next year, or at least a great author like Rushdie who besides being at the center of some controversy, is one of the most influential postmodern writers.   

A few weeks ago I saw him talking in LA for the launch of his latest novel, Luka and the Fire of Life and I found him a great speaker and a very sharp man with a wonderful sense of humor!

Ryszard Antolak

Long Overdue

by Ryszard Antolak on

Congratulations! He certainly deserves it.  He's a master story-teller.

The Nobel Prize Committee has got it right (for once).

(Although, I have to confess, I would have preferred to see a poet win it).