New Evidence of Fraud in 2009 Election
PBS / Muhammad Sahimi

Seven leading Reformist political figures have filed a lawsuit against several commanders of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps for their intervention in Iran's rigged presidential election of June 12, 2009, and its aftermath. The seven plaintiffs include four members of the Organization of Islamic Revolution Mojahedin (OIRM) -- Behzad Nabavi, Mostafa Tajzadeh, Dr. Mohsen Aminzadeh, and Fayzollah Arabsorkhi -- and three members of the Islamic Iran Participation Front (IIPF) -- Dr. Mohsen Mirdamadi, Dr. Abdollah Ramezan-Zadeh, and Mohsen Safaei-Farahani. They describe in their lawsuit how the Guard commanders planned the election "victory" of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad long in advance and what they did in order to achieve their goal. The OIRM and IIPF are the two leading Reformist political groups to have been outlawed by the judiciary. All seven plaintiffs were arrested almost immediately after the election. After Stalinist-style show trials, they were all given long jail sentences.

Nabavi served in the government in the 1980s, and was deputy speaker of the 6th Majles (parliament) from 2000 to 2004. Tajzadeh was deputy interior minister in the first Khatami administration. Aminzadeh was deputy foreign minister and Arabsorkhi was deputy agriculture minister in both Khatami administrations. Mirdamadi, one of the three main leaders of the students who took over the U.S. Embassy in Tehran in November 1979, was chairman of the National Security Committee of the Majles in 20... >>>

recommended by IranFirst