Use of the Veto on UN Resolutions by USA

In the United Nations, five countries (called the Permanent Members of the Security Council) can veto a United Nations Security Council resolution. These five are the USA, the UK, France, Russia (USSR before 1990), and China (Taiwan before 1971).

This is a list of these resolutions vetoed by the USA as well as resolutions in the General Assembly of the United Nations where the USA vote is against the majority of the world. The USA used its veto over 70 times during the 20th century. On the majority of occasions, the USA vetoed resolutions that were favoured by the majority of the world's nations.

recommended by smhb